RSS

Advisory Homeroom Coping With Self-Defeating Behavior

14 Nov

 

 

 

 

S-DBS INVENTORY

 

Directions: Read each statement and decide how well it describes you and your typical behavior in school. Then, by using the four-point scale below, rate each statement and write your response (i.e. 1, 2, 3, or 4) on the answer sheet in the appropriate space. Please answer every statement.

 

3 That’s really me            2 That’s often me          1 That’s me once in a while            0 That’s not me 

_____1. It is not very important for me to do well in school.

 

_____2. When I become discouraged with school, I give up and don’t try any more.

 

_____3. I put a lot of time and energy into my schoolwork, but I don’t seem to accomplish very much.

 

_____4. I have a hard time finishing homework or projects for school.

 

_____5. It is difficult for me to start homework or study for tests without being forced

 

             or threatened by someone.

 

_____6. I don’t like to ask questions or ask for help because am afraid of looking stupid.

 

______7. I don’t do any of my school assignments until I have to or until they are past due.

 

_____8. I usually blame someone else, like my teachers or parents, if I don’t do my homework or receive bad grades.

 

_____9. I usually feel sorry for myself when things go wrong in school.

 

_____10. I don’t seem to have much time for homework because of all the other things I want to do.

 

_____11. I never seem to feel good about my ability to do well in school.

 

_____ 12. I have a hard time paying attention in class.


 

Discussion Questions:

1. Which do you think is a bigger predictor of success, intelligence or attitude?

2. Who do you think that self-defeating behaviors are picked up from?

3. Is it possible that some behavior patterns can hurt your academic performance?

4. Can you give an example?

Closing Statement:

The most important word in the expression “self-defeating behaviors” is “self.” You can determine the course your education will take. Others can and should be an important influence; but the decisions we make by ourselves will, in the end, be the deciding factor.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 14, 2011 in Curriculum

 

Leave a Reply

 
