RSS

Student Showcase Night

20 Nov

Don’t forget about Tuesday Night’s Student Led Conferences.

You have an opportunity to say “Look Ma, I did this….”  

Here is a copy of the work introduction that I prepared for you

Thank you for coming to the student led conferences with me.  I am going to tell you about my English class. Ms. Burton is my teacher.

So far this semester we have studied: Short stories, Nonfiction, Poetry and Drama.  I have:

  • created an ePortfolio that houses my work
  • worked on wikipages displaying responses to literature read in class
  • created blog posts about literature read in class
  • created blog posts about 10 self discovery questions about myself and my beliefs

Here is some of the work that I have done in this class:

Short Stories – We completed a digital story about the story of our choice. Here is mine (show parent your PhotoPeach video)

Nonfiction – We have completed blog posts about some of the articles/books we have read and pictures that we have analyzed.  (Show parent the posts written in response to gun control article, editorial pictures analyzed or work done for The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens Project. )

Poetry – I have written several poems and analyzed a poem that we read in class. (Show parent your poems)

Drama – As part of our study of Shakespeare and Romeo and Juliet, I have researched about Shakespearean times and written insults and compliments in Shakespearean language. (Show parents blog posts and handouts from these activities.)

I did a really good job on ________________________________________________.

I really liked ____________________________________________________________.

Do you have any questions for me? (Listen to your parent/guardian and answer any questions.)

Thank your parents for coming out to talk about your work in the English Class. 

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 20, 2011 in Curriculum

 

One response to “Student Showcase Night

Leave a Reply

 
